Manchester United forced with long away days by Sky and ESPN

by Sam Peoples

Fixture alterations

Mon 20 August: Everton (A) 8pm – Sky

Sun 2 September: Southampton (A) 4pm – Sky

Sun 23 September: Liverpool (A) 1.30pm – Sky

Sat 29 September: Tottenham (H) 5.30pm – ESPN

Sun 7 October: Newcastle (A) 4pm –Sky

Sun 28 October: Chelsea (A) 4pm – Sky

Sat 3 November: Arsenal (H) 12.45pm –Sky

Sat 10 November: Aston Villa (A) 5.30pm – Sky

Sat 17 November: Norwich (A) 5.30pm –ESPN

Other changes

Wed 28 November: West Ham (H) – 8pm

Wed 30 January: Southampton (H) – 8pm

Manchester United will once again start their season with a tough fixture away from home. Last season it was to West Bromwich Albion, this campaign it will be against bogey team Everton. The fixture was always going to be a difficult one but with Monday Night Football forcing the fixture to be played at 8pm, it just became a little bit harder.

Our last few games against Everton in the Premier League have not been particularly successful and the bitter taste of the title-swinging 4-4 draw at Old Trafford is still fresh in the mind. It might not be a cold Tuesday night at the Britannia but Everton are always tough opponents. If the transfer rumours are true, it could also be an interesting affair if Leighton Baines makes the move to Old Trafford. Although, I would personally rather see Marouane Fellaini make the move, wishful thinking I suspect.

Only two weeks later we are then faced with a very long trip down to the south coast to play Southampton, which has now been moved to a 4pm kick-off for Sky on Sunday 2 September. It is a shame that football fixtures are secondary to the TV schedule but money breeds power, so we will have to enjoy the long trip and late kick-off for the pleasure of Rupert Murdoch and his entourage.

You may also like