Manchester United announce 30 man UEFA Champions League squad

by Sam Peoples

Manchester United have announced a 32 man squad for the group stages of the UEFA Champions League.

New signing Marouane Fellaini has been included as has youngster Will Keane who is on the verge of playing football again after a year out with a cruciate ligament injury.

There is no spot in the squad for Darren Fletcher and surprisingly, Adnan Januzaj has been left out of the squad with David Moyes giving places to Jesse Lingard and Larnell Cole instead.

Januzaj’s absence suggests that a loan move may happen for the 18-year-old Belgian who impressed so much during United’s pre-season but any B list player can be added to a the squad 24 hours before a Champions League game.

Here is the squad in full:


1 David de Gea

13 Anders Lindegaard

50 Sam Johnstone


2 Rafael

3 Patrice Evra

4 Phil Jones

5 Rio Ferdinand

6 Jonny Evans

12 Chris Smalling

15 Nemanja Vidić

22 Fabio

28 Alexander Büttner

39 Thomas Thorpe*


8 Anderson

11 Ryan Giggs

16 Michael Carrick

17 Nani

18 Ashley Young

23 Tom Cleverley

25 Antonio Valencia

26 Shinji Kagawa

29 Wilfried Zaha

31 Marouane Fellaini

34 Larnell Cole *

35 Jesse Lingard*


10 Wayne Rooney

14 Javier Hernández

19 Danny Welbeck

20 Robin van Persie

48 William Keane*

B list players

You may also like