Louis van Gaal: David de Gea has never won the Premier League

by Tanveer Arayan

Louis van Gaal has bizarrely said David de Gea has never won the Premier League in his press conference ahead of Leicester City this weekend.

Speaking to reporters about Manchester United this season, van Gaal went on to describe how Wayne Rooney and Michael Carrick had only been champions once, despite the fact they’ve both won it five times each.

“The players who are now playing, they are not used to being champions,” David De Geal.

“I don’t think Matteo Darmian is used to being a champion and David De Gea was never champion, so I don’t agree with the way you make the question.

Memphis Depay was a champion last year [with PSV Eindhoven] so not many players…Rooney, Carrick, they have been the champions once, or maybe more than once.”

Sorry to break it to you Louis but De Gea won it in 2012/13:

He’s a manager who is full of surprises but this is just baffling from somebody who is in control of our club isn’t it?

The Dutchman’s charm and wit made instantly won him a spot in the heart of United fans but slowly and painfully across two years he’s etched away at that relationship to the point where it’s now a bit hard to watch and listen to his press conferences.

Unless of course van Gaal is simply talking about last year then he is of course correct but I don’t think he is. Slowly but surely, van Gaal seems to be losing his marbles as United boss.

You may also like