Manchester United players celebrate 2016 Player of the Year awards

by Sam Peoples

Manchester United’s players enjoyed some celebrations on Monday night at the 2016 Player of the Year awards at Old Trafford.

David de Gea walked away with the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year for an unprecedented third consecutive season, while Chris Smalling was chosen by his team-mates as their Player of the Year.

There was to be an award for Anthony Martial in his debut season as well as he picked up the Goal of the Season for his strike against Liverpool and youngsters Marcus Rashford and Cameron Borthwick-Jackson were named U18s and U21s Player of the Year respectively.

It might not have been a season with much to celebrate but with an FA Cup final coming up and still an outside chance of sneaking into the top four, it could yet be improved.

Celebrating after the awards, Ander Herrera and Daley Blind congratulated their team-mates.

You may also like