Paddy McNair named in final 23-man Northern Ireland squad for European Championships

by Sam Peoples

Manchester United’s Paddy McNair has been named in Northern Ireland’s 23-man squad for the European Championships this summer.

Northern Ireland boss Michael O’Neill included the young Man United defender alongside the likes of Wigan striker Will Grigg and MK Dons full-back Lee Hodson.

Liam Boyce, Billy McKay, Daniel Lafferty, Ben Reeves and Michael Smith were the ones to miss out from the provisional 28-man list.

Northern Ireland begin their campaign at the Euros with a clash against Poland on June 12.

McNair, a defender by trade, has been playing in a defensive midfield role for Northern Ireland as of late and he put in an excellent display in the 3-0 win over Belarus this week.

He has struggled for opportunities at United this season but the hope is that his efforts on the international stage will be recognised by new boss Jose Mourinho.

Squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Alan Mannus (St Johnstone), Michael McGovern (Hamilton Academical), Roy Carroll (Linfield)

Defenders: Craig Cathcart (Watford), Jonathan Evans (West Bromwich Albion), Gareth McAuley (West Bromwich Albion), Luke McCullough (Doncaster Rovers), Conor McLaughlin (Fleetwood Town), Lee Hodson (MK Dons), Aaron Hughes (Free agent), Patrick McNair (Manchester United), Chris Baird (Derby County)

Midfielders: Steven Davis (Southampton), Oliver Norwood, (Reading), Corry Evans, (Blackburn Rovers), Shane Ferguson (Millwall), Stuart Dallas (Leeds United), Niall McGinn (Aberdeen), Jamie Ward (Nottingham Forest)

Forwards: Kyle Lafferty (Norwich City), Conor Washington (Queens Park Rangers), Josh Magennis (Kilmarnock), Will Grigg (Wigan Athletic)

You may also like